Gilmore Girls and their Boys: new episodes!

I’m so excited about the special new episodes of Gilmore Girls coming out soon, and so I had to blog about it.

If you haven’t seen the show, the basic plot is that Rory is an uber-smart girl who wants to attend an Ivy-league university, but her mom Lorelei, who is a single mom, can’t afford it. So, they get funding from Rory’s bossy grandmother, Emily. Although Lorelei has always been proudly independent of her rich parents, she makes a deal where she has to see them for dinner every week to support her daughter’s education.

gilmore-girls-dinner
Oh joy! Another dinner with Emily.

Now, most people identify with one of the younger Gilmore Girls. When I first saw the show in the early 2000s, I definitely identified with Rory all the way. At the time, I was a university student myself, and I could completely relate to her foolish pursuits of bad boys and a career as a journalist.

gilmore-girlsHaving re-watched some episodes now, though, I find to my amazement that my favorite character is now the uptight grandmother, Emily! Have I become old and boring? No, I think I’ve finally just discovered the real star of the show.

Emily knows the score. She doesn’t dither from one man to another like a ping-pong ball (I’m looking at you, Lorelei). There’s no drama between her and her husband, except that one time, but it was over quite quickly. Sure, her values are a bit stodgy and old-fashioned, but she knows what she wants, and knows how to get it. She’s the only Gilmore girl who’s got her life together.

On the other hand, whenever Rory does anything, all I can think is, “No, Rory, don’t be stupid. You don’t need him. RORY, NOOOOOOO!” All her actions are similar to all the mistakes I made as a teenager and young adult. Now that I’m in my thirties, and I’m sure many fans of the show feel this way, I think it will be awesome to see a Rory who is the same age as us.

And don’t get me wrong, I still love Rory and Lorelei. Without them, there wouldn’t be any drama or quirky humor. I just wish they made better romantic decisions. So, let’s have a look at their beaus and possibly make some predictions for the upcoming new episodes…

Rory’s “Three Stooges”

jess-the-gilmore-girls
Jess: rebel without a cause

First of all, Rory had the high school sweetheart named Dean. I have to say, Dean is my least favorite because he was a boring sort of dude, and as Emily and Richard said, he will never be good enough for Rory. And it turned out, he wasn’t.

Her next boyfriend, Jess (Milo Ventimiglia), was much better. He was kind of a bad boy-intellectual who liked to read Jack Kerouac and charmed her with his rebellious ways (only for us to find out later that he was employee of the month at WalMart!). Overall, Jess wasn’t a bad guy, despite all his teenage high-jinx.

logan-the-gilmore-girls
Logan: charmer or jackass?

In college, her main love interest was Logan, another bad boy type. I used to like him because he was cute and adventurous and charming, but re-watching the show now, he comes across as a total jackass.

Sure, he makes some good gestures once in a while that show he’s a human being, but mostly he is just not right for her. He kept making her feel needy, and he was just too much of a douchebag.

The series ended with Logan proposing to Rory, but she turned him down even though she did want their relationship to go on. She just wasn’t ready for marriage, but Logan then broke up with her.

In the new series, there’s no guarantee that Rory will end up with any of her former flames, although all three of them are in it, if the preview is to be believed. But needless to say, if it does happen, I’m rooting for Jess. I think he should be more grown up by now, and he’s the one who is Rory’s intellectual equal. Or. she could just find someone new because in the grand scheme of things, all three of these clowns are not up to snuff.

The Lovely Luke

luke and lorelai
Luke: I will trap you with my hug so you can’t escape and do any more stupid things.

Luke is so awesome, being a handsome, grumpy but always reliable diner owner. He’s the kind of guy you can trust. He is the voice of reason in the crazy Gilmore world.

He was there to drive Lorelei to the hospital when her father was ill; he built a skating rink for her; he tried to help her buy a new car, and then fixed up her old car when the silly woman could not choose one. This man is an angel, and he’s willing to put up with all her crap.

I cannot believe it took Lorelai so long to get together with him, as I definitely prefer him over Rory’s father. Let’s hope Luke and Lorelai stay together in the new series.

Okay, thank you for allowing me my fan girl rant. I’d love to hear your take on it!

7 thoughts on “Gilmore Girls and their Boys: new episodes!

  1. I wish I had Netflix to be able to catch up on these episodes! I loved the show when it was on TV and so did my mom.. we would chat about it 🙂 Now we’re doing the same thing with the show “This is Us.” Back to Gilmore Girls… I’m surprised Emily has changed so much! For me, Lorelei has been my favorite 🙂

    Like

    1. Actually, Christy, it might be for the best. I finished watching the last of the new episodes last night, and I hated it! It was so depressing. I’m not even sure whether to do another blog post on it as I don’t like to do too many rants.
      I used to watch it with my mom too, and Lorelai is her favourite! 🙂

      Like

      1. Aww that’s adorable that we both watched it with our moms 🙂 But I’m sad to hear the new episodes didn’t live up to your expectations.. ok, after reading your conclusions I’ll stick with my happy memories of the series 😉

        Like

  2. Hi Carolee… I hope you are doing well 🙂
    I have watched some episodes and I remeber I thought how handsome Logan was… But actually, as the series was already advanced for me, I got lost in the plot… But guess what?… I saw it streams on Netflix right now, and I have added it to my List… I´ll start from where we all should: the beginning, then 😀 ! Thanks for sharing this summary-review. I am looking forward to watching it, and will do so when I come back from Brazil as I am going there next sunday for about 10 days… Sending love & best wishes ❤

    Like

    1. Hi Aquileana, thanks, I hope you are doing well too and having a lovely weekend. I’m really pleased that my post inspired you to watch GG. I didn’t even get around to talking about some of the other great characters on there like Michel and Miss Patty. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Say something! You know you want to...

