Book Review: Scandal by Carolyn Jewel

Most women fall at the feet of the scandalous Earl of Banallt, but not Sophie Mercer Evans. The young wife of a fellow libertine is unconventional, brilliant, and not the least bit interested in the earl’s advances. Sophie refuses to be seduced, and soon Banallt wants her more than ever.

Years later, unrequited love has changed Banallt and the widowed Sophie is free of her scoundrel of a husband. When he makes a declaration of love, the heartbroken Sophie can’t help but deny him.

As her life begins to fall apart, only Banallt stands by her. Can she keep herself from giving into a passionate affair with a rake who can’t be trusted?

scandal-regency-romanceThis novel was free on Amazon, so I decided to give it a try, but it left me disappointed for the most part.

So, I’ll start with the things I liked about it…

I liked Sophie’s character because she’s a woman of experience, and she won’t be fooled by any rake’s pretenses. At the same time, she’s also passionate and very courageous to give in to her passion at a time when sexual women were considered to be worse than the devil.

Also, the way the story was organized with flashbacks of Sophie and Bannalt’s previous relationship, leaving me wondering how it went so terribly wrong and drawing me into the present story.

However, one of the main things I didn’t like, and this is kind of a big one, was the hero. First of all, his name, Bannalt. It sounds a bit like ‘banal’, and in some ways, he is. All his lines are so cheesy, even for a romance hero, and I felt that he lacked originality.

Then there’s his eyes. Now, I know characters in romance novels tend to have interesting and captivating eyes in various shades… but silver? What is this, an alien? But yes, I didn’t read that wrong: he has eyes “like silver gone to tarnish”. What’s more, his eyes usually have an “eerily flat expression.” I think maybe I know what the author is trying to portray here, the dead-eyed ne’er-do-well, wastrel, libertine and all that. But the problem is he never seems to come to life, even when he’s with the heroine.

And last but not least, there wasn’t really as much scandal as the title implied, which left me… scandalized.

Scandal kept me reading with some of it good points, but it has only racked up a total of 2 Scarlet Letters out of 5 for being so damn annoying.

 

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Scandal by Carolyn Jewel

  1. I’ve been lucky with the first couple of books…such kind comments. I only write them to serve as the gravestone I will never have (can’t see the point of them, and would rather the offspring and theirs had hard copy of the musings of this old fool to remember me by). I don’t really market them, save for a tweet here and there and a swift blog on publication. I think when I’ve decided on the pretty pictures for the cover this one will be ‘good to go’…it is, or I hope it is, the ‘almost poetry’ genre I’ve aimed for all along. Time and reaction alone will tell. My thanks…just don’t be too hard on me if I send you a Kindle version when the time is right.

    Like

  2. Crumbs! I’ve just spent the last 72 hours putting the finishing touches to my third and hopefully ‘best’…subjective…book. Is there any hope for me the lovely Ms Carolee? Seriously, from what I’ve just read you are a compassionate critic…not many are!

    Like

    1. Congrats on the new book, Mike. You should proceed without fear of critics, I say 🙂 Most books are subjective, aren’t they? I don’t like to completely trash a book unless it deserves it, and in most cases of terrible books I don’t finish them and don’t bother putting a review. There are other compassionate critics out there, though it takes some looking. I find the hardest part is actually getting anyone to write a review in the first place. At this point I would probably be grateful even for a scathing review 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Say something! You know you want to...

